Volume VII
Log in

Login to your account

Username *
Password *


Arrangement of Sections

1. Short title.

1A. Establishment of the Soil Conservation Board.

1B. Chairman and Secretary of the Board.

1C. Functions of the Board.

1D. Soil Conservation Fund.

2. Surveys and investigations as to nature and extent of land degradation.

3. Declaration of conservation areas.

4. Regulations for conservation areas.

5. Acquisition of land required for carrying out measures to prevent degradation.

5A. Delegation of powers.

6. General regulations.

7. Loan to owner of land who is required to take measures under the Act.

8. Authority for Director to take measures where owner of land fails to do so.

9. General provisions as to regulations.

10. Appointment of officers.

11. Offences and penalties.

11A. Application of provisions

12. Interpretation.

25 of 1951,

29 of 1953,

57 of 1981,

24 of 1996.

AN ACT to make provision for the enhancement and substance of productive capacity of the Soil; to restore degraded land for the prevention and mitigation of soil erosion; for the Conservation of soil resources and protection of land against damage by floods, salinity, alkalinity water logging. brought; and to provide for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

[Subs by s 2 of Act 24 of 1996.]

[Date of Commencement: 13th August, 1951]

1. Short title.

This Act may be cited as the Soil Conservation Act.

1A. Establishment of the Soil Conservation Board.

(1) There shall be established a Board which shall be called the Soil Conservation Board (hereinafter referred to as the "Board”).

(2) The Board shall consist of the following members who shall be appointed by the Minister, appointed under Article 44 of the Constitution, to be in charge of the subject of Agriculture—

(a) the Secretaries of the Ministries of the Ministers appointed under Article 44 of the Constitution in charge respectively of the subjects of—

(i) Environment;

(ii) Land;

(iii) Mahaweli development;

(iv) Housing and Construction;

(v) Highways;

(vi) Plantation Industries;

(vii) Agriculture;

(viii) Finance;

(ix) Provincial Councils;

(x) Mines and Minerals;

(xi) Forestry;

(xii) Irrigation;

(b) the Director General of Agriculture;

(c) Director of Coast Conservation;

(d) the Director General of the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka; established by the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka Law, No. 4 of 1978;

(e) the Director General of the Urban Development Authority established by the Urban Development Authority Law, No. 41 of 1978;

(f) the Chairman of the Central Environmental Authority established by the National Environment Act, No. 47 of 1980;

(g) a representative each from two non-governmental organisations engaged in activities related to Soil Conservation and land use (hereinafter referred to as appointed members'');

(h) the Board may with the concurrence of the Minister co-opt maximum of two persons or officers who have special knowledge in relation to the subjects referred to in paragraph (a)

(3) Secretaries to the Ministries of the Ministers in charge of the subject of Agriculture in Provincial councils may be invited to attend moving of the Soil Conservation Board, when matters relating to a particular Provincial Council is taken up at the meetings of the Board.

(4) —

(a) An appointed member may, at any time resign his office, by letter addressed to the Minister.

(b) The Minister may, at any time remove an appointed member from office, without assigning any reason therefor.

(c) Subject to the provisions of paragraphs (a) and (b) the term of office of an appointed member shall be three years.

(d) Where an appointed member vacates office by death, resignation, removal from office or otherwise, the Minister may appoint another person from the non-governmental organisation to which such member belonged, in his place:

This section of the article is only available for our subscribers. Please click here to subscribe to a subscription plan to view this part of the article.